Home
Forums > General Discussion >

Good and comfy singlespeed/track frame, no toe overlap?

(closed)
I'm looking for a good quality, readily available singlespeed/fix frame, but one that has no toe overlap, and can accomodate large tires (atleast 28mm). But that is an otherwise standard SS frame (120 dropouts, track ends etc etc.)
Any ideas, I have been looking at and considering the purchase of the following framse: Pake rum runner,
the Affinity metropolitan,
and the Brooklyn machine gangsta track,
but I have no first hand experience with these frames so I dont know which has the toe
overlap, which I hate so much. Anyone have experience with these bikes?
I like comfortable riding bikes too.
Thanks

November 16, 2013 10:55 PM
Kilo titties

All track bike have toe overlap

November 16, 2013 11:20 PM
I can speak for the Rum Runner it's a great frame. With the stock fork (38mm rake), 165mm cranks, and large toe clips - I don't have overlap. It's close enough that if I ran 170mm cranks I would probably get overlap though. The frame alone doesn't determine overlap though: fork rake, crank length and where your foot is on the pedal (Toe clip size or cleat position) all play a role in it as well. It's a nice frameset for the price though and you can definitely avoid overlap with it.

November 16, 2013 11:50 PM
GromCake
210 posts
11 bikes
GromCake is riding a 59cm though. With a 53cm frame you are most likely to have overlap. But a frame with no toe overlap is no fun!

November 17, 2013 12:02 AM
That's another thing that will play a role in overlap, didn't even think of that.

November 17, 2013 12:27 AM
GromCake
210 posts
11 bikes
There's also the highly recommended All-City Big block.
I want to get one, but I might want the lavender one.

November 17, 2013 01:30 AM
Rushing
372 posts
3 bikes
toe overlap really isn't a big deal...just gotta lean into your turns.
and not sure on pricing, but i think the pake is gonna be the easier to attain.

November 17, 2013 02:19 AM