Home
Forums > General Discussion >

Pain?

(closed)
Hello Pedal Room! I wanted to start a thread about any pain or biomechanical dysfunction you may be experiencing, while bicycling or with other activities (possibly preventing you from riding). I'm a physical therapist and wanted to offer my skill set to fellow like minded individuals (fitness/cycling enthusiast). Please feel free to post to this thread and I'll try to identify the cause and treatment options. Thanks so much, hope to hear from you guys. Ride safe!

Dr. A, PT, DPT

October 3, 2016 11:53 PM
I have had IT band issues in my left leg. Sometimes so bad that its basically impossible to ride a fixed gear and if I'm on my road bike I can only handle like 100 watts.

October 4, 2016 12:42 AM
babychris
99 posts
2 bikes
Can you give me explicit details? Where are you feeling pain? How bad is it? How long? What motions increase pain? Try to be as detailed as possible

Thanks!

October 4, 2016 12:43 AM
Outside of the left knee. I can go for 20 min without feeling any pain then I'll get a shooting pain from the knee up the quad (sometimes it happens within a couple minutes. The pain will persist in the knee afterward. Sometimes I can get in a good pedal stroke where I can manage to at least keep a high cadence. Occasionally I feel it going up stairs. Its bad enough to prevent me from pedaling altogether (occasionally I have to get off the bike and wait a minute), and the persisting pain is bad enough that I dont put any power through my left leg, I just keep it spinning. Any resistance hurts. Whenever it happens I just turn around or take the quickest way home as it basically disables me from riding

October 4, 2016 12:59 AM
babychris
99 posts
2 bikes