Home
Forums > General Discussion >

Why do you build your ride ?

(closed)
This is not to those of you who do this as keep aka paying the rent. This is to those who do it for the ride or for the love of art and therapeutic pleasures.

I myself love it for many reasons. The creation of something not entirely seen is simply sweet from a bicycle build and art perspective. Now I am no art major nor a mechanic by trade. But I love to see a sweet build when it flows without effort and looks so beautiful or borders on"damn thats different".
Something as simple as when you install that bottom bracket and it feels sooo smooth with each pedal stroke..
I define this as goober bicycle zhit and I love it. Ride on brothers & sisters....

July 19, 2013 08:27 PM
fixed_culture
23 posts
0 bikes
Because most completes are built with complete crap components

June 21, 2016 03:03 AM
ghostridethewhip
500 posts
0 bikes
I love building shit. I used to work on cars back when I had a garage and didnt have to pay rent. Bikes are much much cheaper and easier. Its always fun to see a finished bike and then ride the shit out of it.

Plus I like doing stuff with my hands. My hands are magical.

June 21, 2016 03:49 AM
DuddyJ
419 posts
45 bikes
Spoken like a true engineer

June 21, 2016 04:18 AM
Jehu
544 posts
14 bikes
I love nerding out over geo charts, components, weights, specifications, colors, finishes, etc. to make something that complements my style, needs and preferences. I relish the tranquil tactility of chasing a bb shell, pressing in a headset, tensioning spokes, torquing bolts, adjusting the brakes and drivetrain, dialing in the cockpit, etc. I guess you could say I enjoy the process almost as much as the product, but nothing beats a good ride!

June 21, 2016 04:19 AM
bikenejad
87 posts
13 bikes
If you're passionate about anything, you're going to want to make it your own. Bicycles are no different. That's why I do it. That's why anyone does anything they give a shit about.